

## PRESS RELEASE

PENNSBURY SCHOOL DISTRICT
OFFICE OF COMMUNICATIONS

134 YARDLEY AVENUE • P.O. BOX 338 • FALLSINGTON, PA 19058-0338
www.pennsburysd.org

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE CONTACT: Jennifer Neill 215-428-4178

**September 23, 2021** 

## Five Pennsbury High School Students Named National Merit Semifinalists

(FALLSINGTON, PA –) The National Merit Scholarship Corporation recently announced that five Pennsbury High School students have been named semifinalists in the 2022 National Merit Scholarship Program.

"We are so pleased to celebrate the accomplishments of these five students," said Lisa Becker, Pennsbury High School West Principal. "Not only have they achieved high academic honors, but their commitment to their community and leadership should be commended, especially given the challenges students have faced over the last 18 months and continue to face."

Approximately 16,000 Semifinalists were named in the 67th annual National Merit Scholarship Program. These academically talented high school seniors have an opportunity to continue in the competition for some 7,500 National Merit Scholarships worth nearly \$30 million that will be offered next spring.

The National Merit Scholarship Program is an academic competition for recognition and scholarships. Students are entered by taking the Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT), which serves as an initial screen of program entrants each year. To be considered for a Merit Scholarship® award, Semifinalists must fulfill several requirements to advance to the Finalist level of the competition. This includes providing information about their academic record, participation in school and community activities, demonstrated leadership abilities, employment, and honors and awards received. About 95 percent of the Semifinalists are expected to attain Finalist standing, and approximately half of the Finalists will win a National Merit Scholarship, earning the Merit Scholar® title.

Congratulations to this year's honorees:

Ezra M. Greenberg Paul D. Kerns Anika Koul Eshan K. Singh Anna Z. Ye